The Cyclades of Greece - Hellas

Cyclades is a group of 56 islands, its most important ones beingAmorgos, Anafi, Andros, Antiparos, Delos, Ios, Kea, Kimolos, Kythnos,Milos, Mykonos, Naxos, Paros, Santorini, Serifos, Sikinos, Sifnos,Syros, Tinos, Folegandros, as well as the “Minor Cyclades” comprisingDonousa, Irakleia, Koufonisia and Schinoussa.

Nature did art creating these islands from the minimal "painted" Myconos to the moonlike beaches of Milos !!!

Because the islands are set up in a circle around Delos the islands are named Cyclades, Kyklos is the Greek word for circle.

Bare rocky islands decorated with brightly white villages high on hills above the blue sea and fringed with the terrific beaches. The Islands' attractions are worth the large number of their visitors, especially in summer.

Each island allocates its own charms. By plane or by ferry the approach is very easy and amusing.

The beautiful Greek Cyclades

View Κυκλάδες in a larger map

Read about the most beautiful Greek Islands of Cyclades


The  Island   of  Syros  in the Northern  Cyclades


The Island of Sifnos  in the Western Cyclades

Sifnos belongs the the Western Cyclades group and is situated between the closest islands of Kimolos (10 nautical miles), Serifos (12 nautical miles), Paros (14 nautical miles) and Milos (20 nautical miles).  It is wedge shaped, to which it owes one of its ancient names, Akis.  It is 18 kms long and 8kms wide with an area of 74 square kms, a coastline of 28 nautical miles and it is 75 nautical miles from Piraeus.


The Island of  Serifos in the Western Cyclades